Under an hour soda bread

When I’m in my ‘sick bed’ I know I should stay put but I just caaan’t! I find it difficult to sit still at the best of times, and when I’m ill is no excuse.

Much to my housemate’s dismay – today I decided to make bread. In my defence, it is EASY bread. Within an hour I had decided to make the bread, located all the ingredients, and devoured the damned thing!

Bread making can be laborious – but this one is SO easy. Try it!

Soda bread doesn’t rely on yeast to rise, so there is NO proving process. When combined; the bicarbonate of soda, cream of tartar and buttermilk create the carbon dioxide necessary to make the dough rise.

SODA BREAD

  • 75g plain flour
  • 150g wholemeal flour (I used a country grain bread flour, because I like the bits)
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1tsp cream of tartar
  • 1tsp bicarbonate of soda
  • 25g butter
  • 150ml buttermilk
  • Handful of linseed (optional)
These ingredients make a small loaf, which was all I needed. Feel free to double or even triple the mix.

METHOD

  1. Make buttermilk. Bring normal milk to the boil. Once it has cooled, add a teaspoon or so of lemon juice or white wine vinegar (whichever is on hand). Give it a mix – and voila – you have buttermilk!
  2. Preheat your oven to about 200C. Prepare a baking tray with some baking paper.
  3. Put the two types of flour, salt, cream of tartar and bicarbonate of soda into a mixing bowl.
  4. Rub the butter into the dry ingredients, until there are no lumps.
  5. Pour in the buttermilk, and mix it quickly using your hands. Knead it very lightly, and STOP as soon as you have a soft dough.
  6. Form a ball out of the dough, and plop it on your prepared baking tray. Use a sharp knife to make a few deep slashes on the top, and sprinkle on your linseed.
  7. Allow it to sit for a minute, before you put it in the oven. Put a separate pan of water in the oven to create steam (so your bread doesn’t dry out).
  8. Bake it for about 25 minutes, or until it is beautiful and golden.

Slice the loaf whilst it is warm, and enjoy. A perfect treat when feeling under the weather.  Or a quick bread to make fresh for a weekend breakfast.

Slightly adapted from London Eats – Thanks L!
9 thoughts on “Under an hour soda bread

  1. Good to have a recipe for a small soda bread. I have tried to make big ones before but they were all disasters and I was so cross about the wasted ingredients.

What do you think?

